Being a pro hockey and lacrosse ref is like being a knight!

Whether I am playing ice hockey or working as a referee, I feel like a knight from medieval times! My skates are like my horse, my charger, and give me speed, mobility and power.  I wear a helmet, just like medieval armor, as well as arm protection like greaves, leg protection like shin plates, and underarmor like chain-link mail.  I also have a visor just like a medieval knight’s helmet.  And when I play, my stick is like my sword or my javelin to joust.

The same holds true when I ref lacrosse, but  I wear less armor, like a simple hand-to-hand combat in a medieval tournament, instead of jousting.  And my feet are my trusty steed.  I love it.  Game on everyone!

2011Ref

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

