Happy Fat Tuesday and Mardi Gras everyone!

     The first time I experience Mardi Gras was in New Orleans and found it to be a magical city.  The architecture is inspiring and the culture is absorbing.  I met a young Austrian girl there and hoping to walk her home that night, asked the stupidest question in the world anyone could ask a bar tender:  “What time do you close?”  He just looked at me like I was insane, chuckled and replied, “We never close.”  That’s when I learned that all the bars, clubs and most every eating or drinking establishment in the whole city was open 24 hours.  What a city!

New Orleans is definitely a city I could live in and celebrating Mardi Gras this week has reminded me of that.  I am glad that they have rebuilt since the hurricane and that this great U.S. city continues to thrive.  Long live New Orleans and happy Mardi Gras everyone!

mardi gras

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

